Theories Discussion > General Discussion

The footprints, the footprints ...

(1/16) > >>

Earthland:
I'm a novice and haven't looked through all the materials. From the outset, what struck me as most telling was that "footprints left by the group everyone seemed to descent with relative ease." It struck me, because from a psychological point of view, cutting the tent from inside and leaving it without proper clothes, and then strolling away with relative ease, are completely at odds with each other.

What does the "relative ease" mean exactly, and how can one deduce it from the footsteps? Does it mean that no-one had trouble with walking - ie, no-one was badly injured - or does it mean that there was no rushing away in panic, as if they were just talking a walk in a park?

If the latter is really true (and not only seemingly so, let's say, because the weather conditions were such that it was impossible to move in a different manner), that really leaves only two options in my view. Someone either forced them to leave and kept them under gunpoint, or there was some sort of group lunacy taking place.

KFinn:
Welcome to the forum!!

The footprints are largely interpreted as showing a controlled descent; they don't appear to be running or rushing, no one appeared injured or incapacitated to the point of dragging their legs or limping.  Although there are some hand prints believed to be seen in the photos, there didn't seem to be a lot of stumbling or falling in the area where the footprints were present. 

The fact that a controlled descent is at odds with a panicked exit from the tent is a key part of the mystery.  There are those who question whether the tent was cut by the Dyatlov group, whether they were forced down the ridge by others, whether they were under the influence of intended or unintended substances. 

Welcome to the Dyatlov incident!!!  I hope that you are able to find answers or, at the vey least, find valuable discussion!!

Teddy:
Welcome to the forum.