March 28, 2024, 02:06:42 PM
Dyatlov Pass Forum

Author Topic: Location, Location, Location ...  (Read 4562 times)

April 12, 2021, 12:11:07 PM
Read 4562 times

Horsebite

Hello,

This is my first post to this forum.  I have been lurking for a bit now, while I read up on the DPI and search back through the archive of posts and information on the site.  I have so many questions in my head and so many theories, as do many here from what I have read so far.  I live in the far north (65 degrees latitude), so am familiar with many of the animals and environmental conditions met by the Dyatlov group.  My background is in mapping and remote sensing (mostly imaging Earth from space) and that brings me to my first questions on this forum.  They seem simple, but I know that they are not. 

1.  Is there any consensus on the location of the following, the tent, the cedar tree, and location of the bodies?  As a mapping nerd, this is what I'm first drawn to.  I have found a number of posts that make me feel like it is not clear where any of these things were.  Additionally, it seems like there are theories about the final four found bodies, that they might have been NW, SW, or SE of the tree.  That is surprising to me. 

2.  Is there any consensus on the order of death?  I have read the medical examiner reports and some recent reports that discussed order of death.  I know there were four wristwatches found on the bodies.  Do people generally believe that those times might be representative of being around the time of death?  The idea being that the watches froze and stopped shortly after death. 

This seems like a great forum with a wealth of valuable information.  Thank you. 

April 12, 2021, 01:04:38 PM
Reply #1

sarapuk

Case-Files Achievement Recipient
Hello,