March 19, 2024, 02:50:54 AM
Dyatlov Pass Forum

Author Topic: Lyudmila Dubinina's Journal  (Read 15939 times)

November 14, 2017, 11:53:55 AM
Read 15939 times

Armide

Hi everyone! This is my first contribution to this forum, it's a translation of Dubinina's diary that I took from the transcript in Anna Matveyeva's book on the incident. I am in no ways a professional translator; I am a language student, but I am still prone to making mistakes. On top of that, please take this translation with a grain of salt as my edition of the book is in French, making this a French to English translation that itself is based on a Russian to French translation; some nuances maybe obscured or lost in translation. Any of my own notes on the translation or clarifications will be in [square brackets like these], except for the […] symbols which Matveyeva already had in her transcript (if you wanna blame anyone for censorship, blame her, not me! :P). Footnotes are at the end of the post. Please do contact me if you see any errors / need any clarification so as to avoid spreading misinformation :)

-----------------------------------------------------

[There are a bunch of resources other than the log of her travels to Otorten Mountain, this includes a few songs (most likely from the trip that she wrote down to keep as a souvenir), along with a few more touching notes including a list of books, German words to learn, and a to-do list. Quite heartbreaking to read.]