April 20, 2024, 12:49:23 AM
Dyatlov Pass Forum

Author Topic: would math help solve how the injuries happened  (Read 3198 times)

March 03, 2023, 03:38:37 PM
Read 3198 times

tenne

I am not good with math so I am putting this out there for someone much better at it to help with.

According to the autopsy, Lyuda multiple bilateral rib fractures, also called a flail chest

According to what I can find, "Flail chest tends to happen to people who:

Are in motor vehicle accidents.
Fall, especially if you’re older and have osteoporosis.
Are children with conditions such as osteogenesis imperfecta and childhood metabolic disease.
Have been assigned male at birth."

so I am wondering if anyone is good enough at math to calculate just how much force would be needed, roughly, how much snow would have to fall and/or how far she would have to fall to get such an injury.

Its beyond my abilities and I don't know if math could be used in this case but I'm putting it out there

March 03, 2023, 04:49:37 PM
Reply #1

amashilu

Global Moderator

March 03, 2023, 09:26:21 PM
Reply #2

Ehtnisba

I am not good with math so I am putting this out there for someone much better at it to help with.

According to the autopsy, Lyuda multiple bilateral rib fractures, also called a flail chest

According to what I can find, "Flail chest tends to happen to people who:

Are in motor vehicle accidents.
Fall, especially if you’re older and have osteoporosis.
Are children with conditions such as osteogenesis imperfecta and childhood metabolic disease.
Have been assigned male at birth."

so I am wondering if anyone is good enough at math to calculate just how much force would be needed, roughly, how much snow would have to fall and/or how far she would have to fall to get such an injury.

Its beyond my abilities and I don't know if math could be used in this case but I'm putting it out there

This was calculated by WAB in some old  post. The forse equal to hit
Homo homini lupus est!