October 25, 2024, 06:06:24 AM
Dyatlov Pass Forum

Author Topic: Theory from my new book  (Read 112 times)

October 24, 2024, 05:17:57 PM
Read 112 times

LorettaRoss

Hello everyone! My name is Loretta Ross and I'm an American mystery writer. A while back I decided to apply the same techniques I use to write mysteries to try to solve this one and I've come up with a theory that's decidedly different from any I've seen before. I'd like to share it with you now.

I'm going to assume that, if you're on this forum, you're very familiar with the case and the evidence. So I'm just going to reference evidence without explaining it too much. But if you have questions, by all means shout out and I'll go into more detail.

First, I'm aware that summers in cold locations and at high altitudes don't always melt off all the snow, so this could go back to the previous winter or earlier. But I think that by late autumn/ early winter of 1958 at the latest a snow bridge formed that covered and completely hid the ravine in the woods below Dyatlov Pass. I've always associated snow bridges with glaciers, but my research says they can form across any kind of break in the landscape and even at low elevations and in wooded locations. They just need three elements: heavy snowfall, high winds, and extreme cold temperatures. This region has all of that.

By the time Igor Dyatlov and his group came to the Pass on February 1,1959, the bridge was several meters thick, the bottom layers frozen hard into ice and firn snow. (Do you know what firn snow is? I had to look that up. It's snow left over from previous years that's begun to transition to glacier ice.) None of the hikers were familiar with the area and Dyatlov had tried to get a topographical map at the beginning of their trip but there hadn't been one available. Thus none of them had any reason to know that there should have been a ravine where they were only seeing what must have looked like a normal clearing in the trees.